Christmas Bauble Cupcakes

IMG_9639

Who doesn’t love Christmas? There’s an exciting and definite change in the air yet it is familiar and comforting all at the same time. The season also brings a big dose of nostalgia: who doesn’t love watching all of those kid’s movies that are suddenly acceptable to watch again as a grown adult because it’s Christmas!

IMG_9632

I am most definitely drawn to the more subtle shades of the season, especially icy blues, shimmering silvers, snow-whites, plums and navy. I don’t have the space to hoard and collect a large Christmas tree decoration collection, so this year i’ll be putting exactly the same decorations on my tree as last year which are deep aubergine and gold. I feel that last Christms was so long ago now that the decorations are still new and novel to me!

These cupcakes are the colours I would decorate my tree this year if I caved in and allowed myself to buy more decorations. A touch of Sugarflair Sky Blue, Shadow grey and dusted with edible silver and pearl lustre dusts. The cupcakes are my favourite Red Velvet recipe and they are topped with vanilla Swiss Meringue Buttercream and fondant.

Do you have favourite Christmas colour combinations and what is your favourite Red Velvet cake recipe? I’d love to know!

4 thoughts on “Christmas Bauble Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

